The Reaction To Derrick Rose Thinking Towards The Future

Derrick Rose taking it to the rim against the Detroit Pistons - 11/10/2014

Derrick Rose spoke on Tuesday to Nick Friedell of ESPN Chicago and said some things that probably worried and even angered Bulls fans.  In fact, click on the article above and then scroll to the bottom for the comments.  It seems like every time Derrick Rose speaks, Bulls fans get frustrated or mad about what he says.  Here are some of the highlights:

“I felt like I’ve been managing myself pretty good. I know a lot of people get mad when they see me sit out or whatever, but I think a lot of people don’t understand that … when I sit out it’s not because of this year.

I’m thinking about long term. I’m thinking about after I’m done with basketball. Having graduations to go to, having meetings to go to, I don’t want to be in my meetings all sore or be at my son’s graduation all sore just because of something I did in the past. [I’m] just learning and being smart.”

These quotes have led some to question Derrick Rose’s passion, his competitiveness, and his will to win a championship for this year’s Chicago Bulls team.  My reaction to that: Shut up

Listen Bulls Nation: Derrick Rose sitting out games in November with not one, but TWO sprained ankles after coming off not one, but TWO major knee surgeries isn’t going to cost the Bulls a championship.  This would be a completely different conversation in April, May, or June when the playoffs roll around, but November?  Are you kidding me?

Do you need evidence?  Go back and watch Derrick Rose play against Milwaukee then watch Monday night’s game against Detroit.  Completely different guys.  He needed that time to rest up and be ready to go.  He looked sore and slow against the Bucks, but he was explosive, aggressive, and dominant at times against Detroit.  This is the Derrick Rose I want to see on the court not the broken down man we saw against Milwaukee that couldn’t keep Brandon Knight in front of him.

But I completely understand Bulls Nation’s desire to watch Derrick Rose play basketball.  It’s been years since we’ve seen elite Derrick Rose, but let me ask you: which Derrick Rose did you enjoy watching? Milwaukee or Detroit?  I thought so. The sprained ankles were a result of bad luck. That can literally happen to anyone who plays basketball.  It just so happened to be Derrick Rose.  Why should he risk the future of what looks to be a legitimate championship contender just so he can appease fans by watching him run half speed against a few future lottery teams?  I’d prefer him to get rest in November and be ready to go by April for the playoffs.  That should (and appears to be) the Bulls’ goal as well.

What do you think of D-Rose’s comments, Bulls fans?  Give me a shout on Twitter @thebullscharge

Posted on November 12, 2014, in Articles, NBA Basketball and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I agree 100%. I’ll also add You can’t question someone’s passion or competitiveness after rehabbing two major knee injuries and coming back the same, maybe even better we haven’t even seen him play over 32 minutes.

    Everything he says is scrutinized we all know he isn’t the most articulate guy but he talks candidly at times maybe everyone would prefer cliche after cliche like other athletes. Add in the fact everyone saw him come back too early against Milwaukee and he clearly looked injured why question him? he clearly gives his all and if he can play I believe he will

    Like

Leave a Reply

